Reviews



Reviews

''Excellent lunch - fresh produce'' Rating 5/5  Reviewed 8 July 2020.

Excellent lunch - fresh produce brilliant service. Delicate fish platter and melt in your mouth quiche

''Spicey Soup break on the History Tour'' Rating 4/5  Reviewed Feb 2020.

We were on a History Tour in Dorchester..... The promise of fresh made soup lured us in. We had the spicey parsnip soup with a warm cheese scone. Very tasty. Service was great, warm and friendly, and the menu was quite extensive with daily specials as well as a la carte. We finished up with a cake from their lovely selection and a coffee each. Mmmm!

''Excellent food and coffee!!!!'' Rating 5/5  Reviewed 14 Feb 2020.

The best coffee in Dorset is served here and at their sister cafe in Weymouth (Taste Cafe at Chesil Beach) The food is always fresh and delicious, you can see all the love and dedication put into the menus. Your all doing a terrific job, especially the wonderful manager Rebekah who always goes above and beyond. 5***

''Tasty food at Taste Brasserie'' - Rating 5/5. Reviewed 3 April 2019

What a great place to stop for lunch in Dorchester! We were looking around for something that wasn’t a chain and not just a coffee shop. We wandered up a side turning off the high street (Antelope Walk) and saw this place which was “buzzing”....More

''Lunch'' - Rating 5/5. Reviewed 21 March 2019.

Had the best burger ever yesterday lunch time. Beef and wild boar with goats cheese, lettuce, tomato and onion marmalade. Can't wait to have it again.

''Friendly and Delicious'' - Rating 5/5. Reviewed 22 March 2019.

I visited with my grandmother (95) in her wheelchair, we were greeted by lovely waitresses who went above and beyond to make us comfortable. Our lunch was outstanding and when I asked if there was any garlic mayonnaise, the chef made some up specially which...More

''Absolutely Fabulous!'' - Rating 5/5. Reviewed 21 February 2019.

My husband and I had lunch at Taste for the first time today and were absolutely blown away by the attention to detail on every level. Despite being busy we were greeted with a smile and a warm welcome by staff whose attentiveness and smiles...More

'' unlimited puds night - wow!'' - Rated 5/5. Reviewed 15 February 2019.

We ate here for the first time on Valentine's day/night with friends for a special event evening where for £28.50 you get a glass of fizz, a main course and then as many puds as you can manage. I would say the puddings are larger...More

''Pudding night!'' Rated 4/5. Reviewed 8 December2018.

Visited here to attend ‘pudding night’ - £28.00 for a glass of prosecco, a main meal and unlimited desserts (all miniature) First impressions were good, staff were polite and friendly. Decorations were lovely. A choice of 3 mains - 2 meat and 1 vegetarian.

''Cosy and friendly'' - Rated 5/5, Reviewed 28 October 2018.

Just popped in for a coffee and hot chocolate whilst visiting the city. Staff were very welcoming which was nice to start. Drinks were lovely and really liked the decor. Food looked and smelled amazing, would go back!

''Great breakfast'' - Rated 5/5. Reviewed 27 August 2018. 

Went with my husband and son for breakfast. Really tasty and great sausages. Staff friendly. Would highly recommend

;;TASTE is the place where the locals say to go!'' - Rated 5/5 Reviewed June 2018..

Taste Brasserie in Dorchester is slightly off the path but easy to get to. There’s plenty of parking close by or if you’re on the High Street, just take Antelope Walk over to Trinity Street and turn Right. Taste is family friendly, offers two levels...More

"Coffee Stop" - Rating 4/5

Reviewed 28 June 2017

"Haven't eaten here, but excellent coffee and nice, homemade cakes. Lovely staff. Well worth a visit and the menu looks."

"Love This Place! Staff are Absolutely Lush" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 22 June 2017

"I mainly come in here with work for a Caramel Cappuccino but I needed to review it as the staff are just so lovely and it's such a lovely welcoming place. Food looks amazing, have yet to eat here oh and the cakes look out of this world. Coffee is great too."

"Fabulous Restaurant" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 15 June 2017

"We have just had a wonderful evening at Taste, celebrating our 20th anniversary in business with around 80 of our clients. The food and drink was wonderful and all of the staff were very attentive, friendly and helpful! Everyone had a lovely evening! Great restaurant with lovely staff!"

"Great Place for Coffee or Lunch" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 15 June 2017

"This is a great place for coffee or meet friends for lunch. Staff were attentive and nothing was too much trouble. Would go again anytime - it was great."

"Great Little Cafe/Restaurant in the Heart of Town" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 1 June 2017

"Stopped for lunch with the family. All of the food was really good especially the crab sandwich. Very welcoming staff.

"Great for Coffee and Lunch" - Rating 5/5

Reviewed 23 May 2017

"Lovely light lunches, great hot and cold drinks. They also do great speciality evenings such as 'pudding evenings'"

"Terrific Food" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 18 May 2017

"Have been meaning to try Taste for a while, so finally went for it. Staff were friendly and courteous. Decided on the Minute Steak which tasted great and was really tender, with plenty of fries to go with it, don't usually like sauces with steak, but the peppercorn sauce changed my mind on that front. Ambience was nice and relaxed, very enjoyable meal. Thank you."

"FANTASTIC!!!" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 17 May 2017

"We felt we had to write a review as we had such a fantastic meal, and the service was brilliant.

From the moment we arrived nothing was too much trouble. We had to be given a little longer to order what we wanted as although the menu isn't massive, it is an excellent and varied menu with so many things tempting us.

Despite going in for a snack, we couldn't resist the dishes on the main meals section and we were not disappointed. We both chose chicken dishes, one from their specials board (a burger) and the other marinated in lime and coriander with an amazing salad. WOW.

We will definately be returning and recommending here to friends and family."

"Breakfast" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 8 May 2017

"Nice and comfortable place to be, great coffee and lovely young waiter Tim not long on the job but lovely nevertheless. Our breakfast was the special which was parisienne potatoe sautéed with chorizo , caramelised onions topped with 2 fried eggs it was a well thought idea and well executed. A little grey spot was the young waitress when paying did not know what the special was. But when in Dorchester again we will be back."

"Great Lunch" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 4 May 2017

"Really tasty food and excellent, friendly service. Would definitely recommend. Relaxed atmosphere. Coffee really good."

"TB or not TB? This is the Question" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 3 May 2017

"I apologise profusely for the title, can't think why I wrote that! Snack and a coffee times two, great! Nice place, staff and location. Was very busy suppose that says it all. Will be back to try a more substantial meal. Well done TB."

"Nice Midweek Lunch" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 26 April 2017

"I was early for a business appointment, so I went here for a quick lunch. The surroundings and decor are nice, and the staff were friendly. Service was good, and the soup and scone I had were excellent, well made, fresh and tasty. I would recommend this place when you are next in Dorchester."

"Breakfast" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 17 April 2017

"What wasn't to like! Loads of staff who were friendly, attentive & all of them seemed to genuinely want to make their customers happy! The cafe was warm. The full english breakfast, each food cooked to perfection with plenty of toast. 5/5."

"Good Food and Happy and Attentive Staff" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 16 April 2017

"Great breakfast and lunch menu. Lots of choices and all well presented and very tasty. Specials too. Whether it's a coffee and a cake, or full meal this is a reasonably priced place with great food and pleasant staff."

"Highly Recommended" - Rating 5/5

Reviewed 5 April 2017

"We are regular visitors to Taste, usually for lunch, sometimes just for a coffee and recently for a special event on Saturday evening (which was brilliant). We are never disappointed: good fresh food, clean, pleasant atmosphere and helpful staff. Highly recommended."

"Delicous Lunch on a Rainy Day" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 4 April 2017

"We had walked around the town on a rainy spring day feeling soggy and cold and wanted something to cheer us up. 

This place was perfect. Lovely staff made us feel welcome immediately and knew the menu really well. The place has a lovely atmosphere and my husband was thrilled to see it was licensed! 

We both chose sandwiches/paninis which were delicious and filling but we could have had many other things on the menu. It looks like it would be nice in the evening too. The food was slightly more than a chain sandwich shop but so much nicer. 

If we go back to Dorchester, we'd definitely head back here for lunch."

"Very Good" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 16 November 2016

"Service was friendly. I had a coffee and then some fish cakes. Was very impressed. They obviously care about their food, how it is presented and served. I also liked the decor and set up. First class."

"Great Lunch Stop" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 15 November 2016

"Wide choice of excellent food from snacks to main courses, well cooked with a twist and excellent service and good value for money. We have no hesitation in recommending it."

"Came For A Second Visit With My Husband" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 15 November 2016

"We arrived at lunchtime and were immediately shown to a table. Service was promt and friendly and the food was delicous. Mine was like the lat time one of the best meals i have have had."

"Will Return" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 1 November 2016

"Tracked Taste down as in Dorchester and Tripadvisor reviews were good. A nice friendly place with a good atmosphere and happy staff - makes such a difference. We only had coffee and teacake but both were good, served with a smile, and we will return to try out more of the menu."

"Very Nice Lunch" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 18 October 2016

"We decided to try Taste for a spot of lunch and were not disappointed having just read they had recently been given an award. I had a special from the board and it was one of the best lunches I have had in a long time."

"Great Breakfast" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 16 Ocotber 2016

"Visited Taste a couple times whilst on Holiday in October. The interior of the restaurant is very clean and tidy and tastefully decorated. The seating area is quite large and on two levels, We ordered 2 Full English breakfasts, one with tea and one with a bottle of Chesil ale. The food was delivered in good time, was hot and delicous. There is a seperate menu for lunch/dinner which to be honest is a bit posh and not to my taste. All the staff were friendly and polite at all times. To sum up - its a lovely clean restaurant. The dinner menu's not for me but the breakfast is great."

"Great Cafe For Everything" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 8 October 2016

"We started the week with breakfast here which was absolutely delicous. Quality ingredients and beautifully cooked. Came back for coffee and back again another day for lunch which was also delicous. Good vegetarian options and a lovely friendly place to go."

"Stylish Lunch Location, Great Foid" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 1 October 2016

"This is the best food I have had in all of Dorchester! Great selection of specials, full of flavour and produced with real care and attention!

This restaurant has great service and helpful welcome staff...

I would love to see it open in the evenings for dinner and cocktails. This restaurant could team up with local wine merchants Morrish & Banham to produce an awesome food and wine tasting dinner.

Top marks all round, great Instragram page!"

"Perfect Pudding's" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 30 September 2016

"Just attended the pudding evening event.
Group of seven... everyone loved it!
Main course I had stuffed and wrapped chicken with side salad miz (which was amazing!! Not your usual salad!) and side of potatoes others on the table had the stuffed peppers and goats cheese with salad mix and potatoes everyone thoroughly enjoyed their mains and was great start to the puddings ahead...
I can't reel off all the puddings but i take a picture of the list which I will upload...
Basically all the puddings are mini mouthfuls of happiness I managed 8 out 12 which was quite good going but could have managed more but my jeans just wouldn't allow. All of our group really enjoyed the concept of the puddings and it was great that puddings lived up to the expectations that we all had.
Compliments to all the staff at Taste restaurant for a lovely evening and putting up with a group of giggling ladies! Thank you!
"

"Tea and Cake" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 15 September 2016

"Good quality good value. Good tea-good selection, tea pot with strainer inside, good coffee, carrot cake, cheese scone. Relaxed atmosphere, decor. Would go again."

"One of the Best Meals I Have Ever Enjoyed" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 14 September 2016

"We visited this restaurant on Saturday 10th September to access its suitability for a larger group. The three of us enjoyed our meals and were impressed with the service sadly we discovered afterwards bookings for large groups are not accepted and we are very disappointed but the three of us will definitely return."

"Good Food Menu" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 13 September 2016

"If you're looking for a modern, decent coffee shop with a good food menu, that feels a bit bigger this is the place for you. We had a nice soup and fish and have previously enjoyed a good breakfast. Worth looking at the special board. Popular, gets busy at lunchtime."

"Amazing All Round" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 11 September 2016

"Visited on Saturday at lunch time. The menu is moderately priced but well worth the money. I had visited before for coffee and decided to go for lunch yesterday. The coffee was good, they had ample high chairs available, the staff were very polite and friendly and the food was incredible. We had a Cajun chicken salad, vegetarian platter were the best I have ever had. It cost just under £40 for three drinks, two mains and one child's meal. We will definitely be returning soon."

"First Time But Will Definitely Be Back Again" - Rating 5/5
Reviewed 5 September 2016

"First time that we came the other day for lunch but we will definitely be back! I really recommend the halloumi burger in brioche bun - it was so delicious and came with the most colorful dressed side salad. I also had a hot chocolate with cream which was really lovely - overall a very pleasant experience with great staff in a relaxed environment!"

"Hidden Gem" - Rating 5/5

Reviewed 21 July 2015

"Delcious cake and coffee for a mid-morning break. Deceptively spacious, we wish we had discovered Taste sooner during our 5 day stay in Dorchester. Would recommend for breakfast, mid-morning and lunch."

"Lunch" - Rating 4/5
Reviewed 19 July 2015

"As usual standard of food very good and service is always top class very attentive and always try to accomodate and special requests."

 


Call Us: 01305 257776 Share: