Today the Keep Military Museum is a striking landmark on the Bridport Road in Dorchester. Completed in 1879, it was designed to resemble a Norman Castle, and is built of Portland stone which gives it a white appearance. In 'British Barracks 1600-1914'.
The Keep was originally the gatehouse for the Depot Barracks of the Dorsetshire Regiment as well as the County Armoury. It was completed in 1879, in time for the amalgamation of 39th and 54th Regiments of Foot who become the 1st and 2nd Battalions The Dorsetshire Regiment in 1881. The Depot Barracks were the administrative centre for the Dorsetshire Regiment and its centre for recruitment and training. The Depot carried out this function between 1879 and 1958 with only one break. This was during World War Two when the barracks was used by the 701st Ordnance Light Maintenance Company and the 1st Quartermaster Company of the American Armed Forces.
Source: The Keep Military Museum Website
Go and visit The Keep Military Museum and then come and pop into Taste Brasserie for lunch or afternoon tea. Or why not start the day off with a Taste Brasserie breakfast and then go explore The Keep Military Museum.
Call Us: 01305 257776 Share: